run programs in a sandbox

Bookmarks created while using a browser within Sandboxie can be safely deleted.

If you create a bookmark (Firefox, not sure about other browsers but would guess it’s the same) whilst your browser is Sandboxed, said bookmark will be removed once you delete the contents of the Sandbox prior to exiting Sandboxie. This is an easy task to perform from the right-click pop up menu of the Sandboxie taskbar icon. Overall, Sandboxie is a great tool to help increase users security while browsing and or testing software. Highly recommended.

Note: The program can be used freely after the 30 days trial period if your willing to put up with a pop-up nag screen that lasts for about 5 seconds when you start Sandboxie.


Review details

I found that browser bookmarks made in sandbox mode remain after exiting, unlike downloaded files which must be (according to the ad) explicitly imported to the “real world”. The leftover bookmarks could allow one to inadvertently access a website accessed previously only in sandbox mode. It also raises the question of what else might be saved by the website visited, that might survive after exiting the sandbox.


Review details

I almost never run new programs or installations without it. For most setup programs, right-click and select “Run Sandboxed” to install, then copy that folder from the Sandbox to anywhere on your HD to turn it into a stand-alone/portable program. Prevents me from having to constantly back-up and restore the registry.

Many thanks to you, Tzuk.


Review details